I chose the name "sharing off the mat" because it seemed to convey the meaning and purpose of not only the site, but my view of what yoga practice really is about. With www.sharingoffthemat.weebly.com I am able to share with you, about the Global Seva India 2012 and the journey of the commitment to raise $20,000 to help end sex trafficking in India and beyond. I can share the stories of victims that have no voice. I can also share with the survivors, the goodwill, good energy and monetary support of many people who are contributing to this fundraising, and consciousness-raising effort. To date, since making my Global Seva commitment public on Feb 24, we have raised over $2,000! That's 10%! We are off to a good start! Give me a chance to tell you why you should care and what you will gain from contributing your time and energy. Yoga is "skill in action" and to take action is how the 21st century yoga is going to evolve. What we do on our yoga mats to get clear, get REAL, and let go of fear helps us to then offer our gifts to others. Sharing is the ultimate yoga practice! It's the difference of being a straw instead of a cup. A cup collects and contains. A straw allows things to move through it. I LOVE the idea of being a straw! My practice of yoga is to be a channel for the Light and the Energy to move through me to benefit all beings. Then instead of just a receiver, we can become more of a sharer! With great respect, may all beings be free.
3/12/2012 08:17:15 pm

I often wonder
HOW do we really take our practice "off the mat"...
when i feel it is all I can do to practice ON the mat...
and when does a yogi "evolve" enough to make that happen?

There is no better way to convey how
what we do on the mat
CAN be taken off the mat
in a real and meaningful way.

The Global Seva Challenge-and your participation in it-exemplifies that philosophy "in action".

It gives the words "may our practice benefit all beings" real meaning.

Maybe we just need to do it and not think about it so much...
Just be a straw.



Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Picture
    Please help end sex trafficking and make a tax deductible donation. Remember to list my name " Jill Gutowski" as the participant you are donating in the name of. Thank you so much!

    Author

    Jill Gutowski has been a practitioner of hatha yoga, meditation and holistic healing for over 18 years.  She teaches in the Princeton, NJ area.

    Archives

    October 2012
    September 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012

    Categories

    All